top of page

Fauna and flora in India

In addition to its rich cultural heritage, India has an exceptional natural heritage. A true melting pot of animals, the diversity of habitats is matched only by the diversity of the species they shelter.

From the lush mangrove swamps of the Sunderbans to the sandy desert of Rajasthan, from the sals forests of Madhya Pradesh to the rocky mountains of Ladakh, many species, large and small, make up one of the richest biodiversities in the world: around 400 species of mammals, 1250 species of birds, 460 varieties of reptiles, 240 types of amphibians and 2550 species of fish. Among the most emblematic are the elephant, the tiger, the Asiatic lion, the crocodile, the monkey, the leopard, the antelope, the one-horned rhinoceros, the cobra and, of course, the peacock, India's national emblem.  

Population growth is now a threat to India's wildlife, be it flora or fauna. However, the authorities are working hard to ensure the survival of this natural heritage and of all these species. More than 106 national parks exist today (Dec. 2021), covering an area of 44,372 km², i.e. 1.35% of the total area of the country.

These are the parks we invite you to visit, including those listed below. The safaris by jeep or elephant will take you to the heart of these protected areas, close to nature. 

Bandhavgarh
Fauna and flora in india

BANDHAVGARH National Park

Madhya Pradesh

It is one of the most popular parks because of its high biodiversity and because it has one of the highest tiger densities in the country.
Declared a national park in 1968, it now covers an area of 1,536 km², with a core area of 716 km². Until 1947, the park remained a favourite hunting destination for the maharajas and their guests. But since 1972 and the introduction of 'Project Tiger' and the Wildlife Protection Act, many measures have been taken to preserve the natural habitat, thus protecting the species.
With the tiger as the main 'attraction', the park is home to 37 species of mammals and, according to official sources, over 250 species of birds, about 80 species of butterflies and a number of reptiles. Among the rarest are the leopard and the lippu bear. Among the most seen are the spotted deer, sambar, Indian entelle (monkey), caracal (desert lynx), Indian fox, mongoose, Indian buffalo, nilgai (antelope), etc.....


The vegetation and flora of the park consists mainly of sal forests in the valleys and bamboo on the slopes. The vegetation along the streams and swamps is rich in birds, including crested eagles and storks. Among the most frequently encountered are the great spotted grebe, the white-eyed harrier, the bankiva rooster, the snake watch and the peacock, the emblem of India.
Finally, the reptilian fauna includes the cobra, the Indian bongar, the viper, the python, the Aesculapian snake and many varieties of lizards including the monitor.

Keoladeo National Park

KEOLADEO National Park

Bharatpur, Rajasthan

The Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary is located between Jaipur and Agra. It was declared a national park in 1982. It is located on a former hunting estate developed and irrigated by the Maharaja of Bharatpur in the early 20th century and has been on the Unesco World Heritage List since 1985.

It was around 1900 that the ruler Kishan Singh developed the famous reserve. His duck-hunting events, which were very popular with the nobility, were sumptuous receptions during which fabulous carnage was made. The record of 4273 ducks killed in one day was achieved in 1938 by the Viceroy Lord Linlithgow and his court! The record of the great hunts is inscribed on a stele in the middle of the park. 

More than 2,800 hectares of 29 km² of woods and ponds are home to more than 360 varieties of birds, both resident and migratory, from countries as far away as Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, China and Siberia. 

 

The proliferation of aquatic plants in the ponds feeds fish, amphibians and insects, which in turn are the preferred food of bird colonies, including herons, marabou, white storks, bee-eaters, hornbills, etc. .... Rare species such as Siberian cranes can also be seen. 

Although the park remains open all year round, the best season is from October to February when migratory birds are present.

Bharatpur
Gir national Park

GIR National Park

Gujarat

Gir National Park, founded in 1965, covers a total area of 1,412 km² of which approximately 258 km² make up the fully protected.

It is the only park to shelter the Asiatic lion whose almost entire population was decimated at the end of the 19th century. Located on the former hunting grounds of the nabobs of Junagadh, the Asiatic lion population was reduced to 20 individuals. It was in 1900 that, faced with this drastic fall, the Nawab Sir Muhammad Rasul Khanji Babi declared Gir a "protected area". The last census, in May 2015, reported 523 individuals, including 109 males, 201 females and 213 young.

Among the 2,375 animal species recorded, Gir has about 38 species of mammals, more than 300 species of birds, 37 species of reptiles and more than 2000 species of insects.

Among the carnivores, in addition to the Asiatic lion, are the leopard, the Indian cobra, various felines, hyenas and jackals. Deer, antelope and wild boar make up the majority of herbivores.

The wet parts of the sanctuary are inhabited by reptiles, such as crocodiles, turtles and monitor lizards, while pythons are sometimes visible on the banks of waterways.

Finally, among the 300 species of birds, mostly resident, there are 6 species of vultures recorded, the most common species remaining the eagle, the owl and the egret.

Gir
Kanha national Park

KANHA National Park

Madhya Pradesh

Kanha National Park is the largest in the state of Madhya Pradesh. Declared a national park in 1955, it now covers an area of 950 km². It was the sal and bamboo forests, rolling grasslands and ravines of the park that inspired Rudyard Kipling to write his "Jungle Book".

If the local attraction for most visitors of Kanha is the tiger, many other species, visible in the green meadows will be appreciated by amateurs and nature lovers. Among these: the deer, the Indian bison, bear, antelope, fox, jackal, hyena, python, mongoose or leopard.

Also contributing to the rich wildlife, a wide variety of exotic birds make Kanha Park a paradise for birdwatchers. Among the 175 species recorded, we can mention storks, peacocks, hoopoes, kingfishers and other finches.

Forests and grasslands form the park and heavy rainfall allows sal, a deciduous tree unique to North and Central India to grow over large areas.

The meadows, on the other hand, are an integral part of the park. They are home to the herbivorous animal population.

Kanha
Kaziranga
Kaziranga national Park

KAZIRANGA National Park

Assam

The Kaziranga Sanctuary, located in the state of Assam in the floodplains of the southern bank of the Brahmaputra River, was listed as a Unesco World Heritage site in 1985 for its unique natural environment.

​Originally established as a reserved forest in 1905 to protect endangered rhinoceros species, the park became the "Kaziranga Game Sanctuary" in 1916, then the "Kaziranga Wildlife Sanctuary" in 1950 to finally be declared a national park in 1974.

​The park covers an area of 430 km² and occupies a vast valley in a setting of hills covered with forests. Shallow shores and lakes, beyond the reach of the river's annual floods, merge into marshes and tall grass-covered plains, where rhinos, deer and herds of wild buffalo graze nonchalantly.

 

The many bird species are represented in particular by egrets, herons, storks, fish-eating eagles and a colony of gray pelicans. Few routes penetrate this sea of wild grass where wild elephants rarely venture, preferring to stay in the forests, while the hundred tigers listed are practically invisible.

The main attraction of Kaziranga remains the one-horned rhinoceros, of which two-thirds of the 3,500 individuals recorded in 2015 in India and Nepal, reside in the park.

Ranthambhore
Ranthambhore national Park

RANTHAMBHORE National Park

Rajasthan

The "Sawai Madhopur National Park" is the largest and most interesting park in Rajasthan, whether for the beauty of its landscapes or the fauna it shelters.

Located in a verdant area, Ranthambhore Park as it is commonly called, is fed by several rivers on which dams have been installed to form lakes. It is dotted with decrepit Rajput pavilions and palaces. The fort, conquered by Akbar in 1569 and listed as a Unesco World Heritage site in 2013, was a glorious citadel, founded in the 5th century. It is one of the largest and oldest in Rajasthan, of which isolated fortifications remain on a rocky outcrop.

Ranthambhore has almost always been controlled by the Rajputs and was the privileged ground of the great royal hunts of the Maharajas of Jaipur. Shortly after India's independence, the area was declared a sanctuary before becoming a full-fledged national park under "Project Tiger" in 1972.

Over time the park became world famous for being home to "friendly tigers" but poaching in the 1980s was so severe that the population dwindled to just a few individuals. Since then, rigorous monitoring of the park and various regulations have allowed a constant increase in the number of felines.

However, Ranthambhore is much busier than most other national parks in the country. For those looking for tranquility, away from tourists, the parks of Madhya Pradesh will be more advisable.

bottom of page

Faune et flore de l'Inde

Les grands parcs, pour découvrir le patrimoine naturel

En plus de son riche patrimoine culturel, l’Inde possède un patrimoine naturel exceptionnel. Véritable creuset animalier, la diversité des habitats n’a d’égal que celle des espèces qu’ils abritent.

De la mangrove luxuriante des Sunderbans au désert de sable du Rajasthan en passant par les forêts de sals du Madhya Pradesh ou les montagnes rocailleuses du Ladakh, de nombreuses espèces, grandes et petites, composent l’une des biodiversités les plus riches au monde : environ 400 espèces de mammifères, 1250 espèces d’oiseaux, 460 variétés de reptiles, 240 types d’amphibiens et 2550 espèces de poissons. Parmi les plus emblématiques figurent l’éléphant, le tigre, le lion d’Asie, le crocodile, le singe, le léopard, l’antilope, le rhinocéros unicorne, le cobra et bien sûr, le paon, emblème de l’Inde.  

L’expansion démographique représente aujourd’hui une menace pour ce patrimoine naturel. Mais les autorités veillent pour assurer la survie de toutes ces espèces et plus de 103 parcs nationaux existent aujourd’hui (juillet 2015), couvrant une surface de 40,500 kms2, soit 1.23% de la surface totale du pays. D’autres projets sont en place pour assurer la survie de certaines espèces, tel le ‘Project Tiger’ qui assure la préservation du tigre depuis 1972.

Ce sont ces parcs que nous vous invitons à venir visiter. Les safaris en jeep ou à dos d’éléphant vous mèneront au cœur de ces espaces protégés, au plus près de la nature. Ensemble, construisons votre itinéraire ‘vie sauvage’ en Inde.

Parmi les parcs les plus visités, nous citerons : 

BANDHAVGARH (Parc National de) - Madhya Pradesh

C’est l'un des parcs nationaux les plus populaires d’Inde. Bien qu’étant relativement petit, il est l’un des plus importants en raison de sa grande biodiversité et parce qu’il possède l’une des plus fortes densités de tigres en Inde.

Déclaré parc national en 1968, il s’étend aujourd’hui sur une superficie de 1536 km², avec une zone centrale de 716 km². Jusqu’en 1947, le parc reste une destination favorite des maharajas et leurs invités pour leurs chasses. Mais depuis 1972 et l’entrée en vigueur du ‘Project Tiger’ et de la loi sur la protection de la faune, de nombreuses mesures ont été prises pour préserver l’habitat naturel, protégeant ainsi les espèces.

Avec le tigre, principale ‘attraction’, le parc abrite 37 espèces de mammifères et selon les sources officielles, plus de 250 espèces d'oiseaux, environ 80 espèces de papillons et un certain nombre de reptiles. Parmi les plus rares, figurent le léopard et l’ours lippu. Parmi les plus vus, le cerf tacheté, le sambar, l’entelle des Indes (singe), le caracal (lynx du désert), le renard indien, la mangouste, le bison indien, le nilgai (antilope), etc…..

La végétation du parc est composée principalement de forêts de sal dans les vallées et de bambou sur les pentes. La végétation le long des ruisseaux et des marais est riche en oiseaux, et inclus l’aigle huppé et les cigognes. Parmi les plus fréquemment rencontrés, figurent le grèbe castagneux, la busautour aux yeux blancs, le coq bankiva, le montre serpentaire et le paon, emblème national de l’Inde.

Enfin, la faune reptilienne comprend le cobra, le bongare indien, la vipère, le python, la couleuvre d’esculape et de nombreuses variétés de lézards dont le varan.

 
KEOLADEO (Parc National de) - Bharatpur, Rajasthan

Le sanctuaire ornithologique de Bharatpur se situe entre Jaipur et Agra et a été déclaré parc national en 1982. Installé sur un ancien domaine de chasse aménagé et irrigué par le Maharaja de Bharatpur au début du 20e siècle, il est inscrit sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco depuis 1985. 

C’est vers 1900 que le souverain Kishan Singh aménage la célèbre réserve. Ses rendez-vous de chasse aux canards, très prisés de la noblesse, sont de somptueuses réceptions au cours desquelles on fait de fabuleux carnages. Le record de 4273 canards tués en une  journée est réalisé en 1938 par le vice-roi Lord Linlithgow et sa suite ! Le palmarès des grandes chasses est inscrit sur une stèle au milieu du parc. 

Plus de 2,800 hectares sur 29 km² de bois et d’étangs forment le refuge de plus de 360 variétés d’oiseaux, résidents ou migrateurs venus de pays aussi éloignés que l'Afghanistan, le Turkménistan, la Chine et la Sibérie. 

La prolifération des plantes aquatiques des étangs nourrit poissons, batraciens et insectes, eux-mêmes nourriture privilégiée des colonies d’oiseaux, parmi lesquelles figurent hérons, marabouts, cigognes blanches, guépiers, calaos, etc…. Des espèces rares comme les grues de Sibérie sont également visibles. 

Si le parc reste ouvert toute l'année, la saison la plus favorable s'étend d’octobre à février lorsque les oiseaux migrateurs sont présents.

 
GIR (Parc National de) - Gujarat

Le parc national de Gir, fondé en 1965, s’étend sur une superficie totale de 1412 km² dont environ 258 kms² composent la zone entièrement protégée. 

C’est le seul parc à abriter le lion d'Asie dont la presque totalité de la population fut décimée à la fin du 19e siècle. Située sur les anciennes réserves de chasse des nababs de Junagadh, la population fut réduite à 20 individus. C’est en 1900 que, face à cette chute drastique, le Nawab Sir Muhammad Rasul Khanji Babi déclara Gir "zone protégée". Le dernier recensement, en mai 2015, fait état de 523 individus, dont 109 mâles, 201 femelles et 213 jeunes. 

Parmi les 2375 espèces animales recensées, Gir compte environ 38 espèces de mammifères, plus de 300 espèces d’oiseaux, 37 espèces de reptiles et plus de 2000 espèces d’insectes. 

Parmi les carnivores, en plus du lion d'Asie, figurent le léopard, le cobra indien, différents félins, hyènes et chacals. Les cerfs, antilopes et sangliers composent la majeure partie des herbivores. 

Les parties humides du sanctuaire sont habitées par les reptiles, tels le crocodile, la tortue et le varan alors que les pythons sont parfois visibles sur les berges des cours d’eau. 

Enfin, parmi les 300 espèces d’oiseaux, pour la plupart résidents, figurent 6 espèces de vautours recensées, les espèces les plus communes restant l’aigle, le hibou et l’aigrette.

 
KANHA (Parc National de) - Madhya Pradesh

Le parc national de Kanha est le plus important de l’état du Madhya Pradesh. Déclaré parc national en 1955, il s’étend aujourd’hui sur une superficie de 950 Km². Ce sont les forêts de sal et de bambou, les prairies vallonnées et les ravins du parc qui ont inspiré à Rudyard Kipling son "Livre de la Jungle". 

Si les tigres attirent le plus les visiteurs à Kanha, bien d’autres espèces, visibles dans les vertes prairies seront appréciées des amateurs. Parmi celles-ci : le cerf, le bison indien, l’ours, l'antilope, le renard, le chacal, la hyène, le python, la mangouste ou encore le léopard. 

Contribuant également à la richesse de la faune, une grande variété d’oiseaux exotiques font du parc de Kanha un paradis pour les ornithologues. Parmi les 175 espèces recensées, on citera les cigognes, les paons, les huppes, les martins-pêcheurs et autres pinsons. 

Forêts et prairies forment le parc et les fortes précipitations permettent au Sal, un arbre de feuillus propre à l’Inde du Nord et centrale de se développer sur de vastes étendues. 

Les prairies, quant à elles, font partie intégrante du parc. Elles abritent la population animale herbivore. 

 
KAZIRANGA (Parc National de) - Assam 

Le sanctuaire de Kaziranga, situé dans l'état de l'Assam dans les plaines inondables de la rive sud du fleuve Brahmapoutre, a été inscrit au Patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco en 1985 pour son environnement naturel unique. 

​Initialement établi comme forêt réservée en 1905 pour protéger les espèces de rhinocéros en voie de disparition, le parc est devenu le ‘Kaziranga Game Sanctuary’ en 1916, puis le ‘Kaziranga Wildlife Sanctuary’ en 1950 pour enfin être déclaré parc national en 1974. 

​Le parc s’étend sur une superficie de 430 kms² et occupe une vaste vallée dans un décor de collines couvertes de forêts. Les rivages et les lacs peu profonds, hors de la portée des inondations annuelles du fleuve, se fondent dans des marais et des plaines couvertes d’herbes hautes, où rhinocéros, chevreuils et troupeaux de buffles sauvages broutent de façon nonchalante. Les espèces d’oiseaux, nombreuses, sont représentées notamment par les aigrettes, les hérons, les cigognes, les aigles mangeurs de poisson et une colonie de pélicans gris. Peu de voies pénètrent dans cette mer d’herbes sauvages où les éléphants sauvages s'aventurent rarement, préférant rester dans les forêts,  tandis que la centaine de tigres recensés est pratiquement invisible. 

L’attraction principale de Kaziranga reste le rhinocéros unicorne, dont deux-tiers des 3500 individus recensés en 2015 en Inde et au Népal, réside dans le parc.

 
 
RANTHAMBHORE (Parc National de) - Rajasthan 

Le ‘Parc national de Sawai Madhopur’ est le plus grand et le plus intéressant parc du Rajasthan, que ce soit pour la beauté de ses paysages ou la faune qu’il abrite. Situé dans une zone verdoyante, le parc de Ranthambhore comme on l'appelle communément, est alimenté par plusieurs rivières sur lesquelles ont été installés des barrages pour former des lacs et est parsemé de pavillons et palais rajpoutes décrépits. Le fort, conquis par Akbar en 1569 et classé au Patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco en 2013, fut une glorieuse citadelle, fondée au 5e siècle. C’est l’une des plus vastes et des plus anciennes du Rajasthan, dont il reste des fortifications isolées sur un éperon rocheux. 

Ranthambhore a pratiquement toujours été contrôlé par les Rajputs et fut le terrain privilégié des grandes chasses royales des maharajas de Jaipur. Peu de temps après l'Indépendance de l’Inde, la zone fut déclarée sanctuaire avant de devenir un parc national à part entière sous le ‘Project Tiger’ en 1972. 

Au fil du temps, le parc est devenu mondialement connu pour abriter de ‘gentils tigres’ mais le braconnage dans les années 1980 fut si important que la population des tigres diminua jusqu’à ne plus atteindre que quelques individus. Depuis, une surveillance rigoureuse du parc et diverses réglementations ont permis un accroissement constant du nombre de tigres. 

Reste que Ranthambhore est beaucoup plus fréquenté que la plupart des autres parcs nationaux du pays. Pour ceux qui recherchent la tranquillité, loin des touristes, les parcs du Madhya Pradesh seront plus conseillés.

Infos pratiques - entrées sur sites

 

Private Limited Company incorporated in New Delhi 

Reg. No. U63040DL2001PTC112603

Flo Travels Pvt Ltd

Shop n°F-9, Malhan Plaza, Plot 5, Pkt. 7, Sector 12

Dwarka, New Delhi 110075 - India 

Tel : (00 91) 11 42 72 53 35

Email : info.flotravels@gmail.com